Making contact…

From the companies I researched I took the  first 10 addresses and stuck them on the front of an envelope along with a letter explaining what I wanted to get out of their company.

This is when you make contact when I first did it during college I wrote  a letter and I’m lucky I got a response as it’s the 21st century, I personally think it seems more professional if nowadays you get with the programme… i.e using the e-world (internet)

When I moved away for university, I left my current placement as I was moving cities and I thought it would be good to expand my field of experience further by contacting the publishing companies in the city that I was moving to.

However I count myself really lucky because fortunately they kept me on as seasonal so I didn’t have to quit and because I didn’t move too far away I was able to drive back and forth for when placement needed me as well as studying at university.  

Unfortunately, where I moved for university none of the places I contacted gave me work experience and the following reasons are why: 

I did the same thing as to how I got this work placement, I wrote a general letter to many different publishing companies and one of the responses I received from a company manager via email was this… 

Hello Rosa

Thank you for your letter and CV. Unfortunately we do not have any spare computer equipment at the office here, so it would not be practical to have you in to work.  I wish you well in your efforts to find work experience. If you like, I could give you a couple of pieces of advice on how to contact editors.

I replied…

Thank you for replying, yes please I would appreciate the advice.
Thanks
Rosa

The response was… 

Hello Rosa

In the spirit of constructive feedback…
Please don’t start off with “Dear Sir/Madam”. If you are interested in working for a particular publication, phone up and find out the editor’s name and email address. Say why you are calling, and then put the editor’s name on the letter (or email) with your CV. Journalists are expected to phone people all the time and it will count in your favour if you have made the effort. You should say why you want to work for that particular publication, and the kinds of things you like to write about.You should include a couple of cuttings of articles that you have written (if you have any).
Good luck!

I hope that by any of you reading this see my mistake of being too shy and let’s be honest a bit lazy to research each company individually and seeing whether or not the publishing the company did applied to me as opposed to just basing it on the fact that it was a company in the publishing industry and writing a letter that was generalised so that it could be sent to all. 

Tips

– Phone the company and find the name, email & contact number of the person of whom you would need to contact

– Explain why you are calling 

 – Email instead of writing a letter as it’s efficient and you are likely to get a reply quicker as opposed to writing a letter. 

– Say why you want to work for that particular company

– Mention the kinds of things you have an interest in

– Include a couple of cuttings of what you have done

– Don’t panic if you don’t have much of a portfolio, as long as you have the determination and enthusiasm it will work to your favour you can also start making a portfolio even if you have one thing to show for it it’s still better than nothing and it’s also a start. 

– You are more likely to be taken on if you start out as voluntary, you can then work your way up which is what I did, especially in a recession many companies tend to not pay for interns or if they do it tends to be on minimum wage… expect this!

– Include your availability 

– Explain what kind of experience you have previously had and what you are capable of

– Include a CV

– Triple check everything is spelled correctly

– Give out your home number as well as your mobile in the event you are contacted on your mobile number and you miss the call 

 Also posted in www.lifeisfunbeingme.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

