More Magazine Issue 23rd July 2012

As this issue is a summer one it had a double page spread article on, ‘The Results are in! What’s Next For You?’ This advised tips on what to do once graduated. Written by Michelle Dewberry.

Do Follow her on Twitter: https://twitter.com/MichelleDewbs She also won the apprentice in 2006 which gives me a gut feeling she knows what she on about.

TIP NO.1 

It’s true that there are companies and graduate programmes that have a strict 2:1 or higher selection process, but it’s also true that there are loads of companies out there who hire based on the person and not the degree or education. You’re just going to have to work extra hard at standing out from the crowd in other ways and making sure your CV gets noticed. So, my advice to you is to you is to get yourself out there and find as much relevant work experience as you can. ( Unfortunately, your going to have to do some free of charge) and network as though your life depends on it. I really can’t stress enough how important it is to make contacts. Also make sure you take some time out to think through the reasons why you didn’t bag the result you wanted, so that if and when you’re asked in an interview (which is bound to happen), you have a good answer at the ready…

PERSONAL OPINION

I have actually followed this tip as I’ve never been an A* student, I’ve always tried my best but have never achieved being number one which is why I am so proud of myself to say that when I graduate I will have had a workplace for 4 years in the publishing industry. Also this blog which I hope will prove to have not been a waste of time but a huge success and will impress future employers of all the extra work I have done to show my determination and inspiration that I am a hard worker and will not let you down if someone was to hire me. 

TIP NO.2 

I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again… Use the skills you’ve developed at uni to start your own business and then it doesn’t matter one jot what your result is or isn’t, or you could join an entrepreneurial start-up. Check out enternships.com as a good place to start and get your foot in the door. 

TIP NO.3

I know you may be disappointed now, but just keep the faith that you can succeed regardless. I’m the poster girl for that! I didn’t go to university and I know a whole of  successful people who didn’t either, and if we can get up to the top with little more hope for you. Whatever you do, though, don’t give up.

(Please Note: The information is from the More Magazine article ‘The Results are in! What’s Next For You?’ in Issue 23rd July 2012, I did not write this!)

Also posted in http://lifeisfunbeingme.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

