More Magazine Issue 3rd December 2012

Personal Opinion

This article discusses how to find your dream job which is just like what I have done, in my own tips of my journey to how I got here, I dunno maybe Michelle Dewberry explains it better…

Article – Find Your Perfect Career Fit

Unsure of which career path to take? Michelle reveals how to find your dream job…

What do you want to be when you grow up?
It’s a question we often get asked when we’re young. But sometimes it feels like we aren’t any closer to answering that as adults. What career we want to follow is one of the biggest things we have to decide in our lives, but it’s rare to know what you want to do and to stick with that job forever. You’ll need to analyse your skills and what you enjoy to be able to work out what path will make you happy. So don’t start with a job in mind – start with you. 

1 Know your strengths

If you have preconceived ideas about what route you should follow, you’re putting yourself in a box and trying to make yourself fit into that. For example if you love exercise, animals and the outdoors, an office job might be something you do for a while, but it’s unlikely to be your ultimate career. I know I love talking to people and being organised, but I also want to be in a traditional environment where I wear a suit to work. Working in business is perfect for me, but it’s not for everyone.  

Getting to know your strength means doing some soul searching. To help, one thing I’ve done in the past is ask my closest friends and a few trusted colleagues to fill out a questionnaire about me. I’ve asked them things like what they think my strengths and weaknesses are and how they would describe my character. This will help you work out how other people view you and means you can be more honest with yourself. 

2 Work out your goals

It’s important to think about what you want from your life as a whole, not just your work. If your long term goal is a good work life balance, then a job as a city banker probably isn’t for you – however good salary is! You might find that your perfect Job is actually within the same company, but doing a different role. If you’re currently working in a position that’s a world away from where you want to be, you need a plan. Changing jobs isn’t going to happen overnight. It could take months, even years to make a move. That shouldn’t put you off, but make you more determined. 

3 Making that Move

Say you’re working in retail but want to be a veterinary nurse. Start by getting work experience – see if you can spend a weekend day working for free at a rescue centre, city farm or vets, where you’ll meet people who can advise you about what qualifications you need. If you don’t have the right exam passes already check out hotcourses.com for part and full time courses. It might take hard graft and time, but it is possible. Finally stay positive. Often, it’s only when we look back on our lives that we can join the dots. If I hadn’t done an apprenticeship at St John’s Ambulance’s head office at 17, I wouldn’t be doing what I’m doing now, as it taught me office skills and gave me great experience. Use each experience as a stepping stone to get where you want to be. 

(Please Note: The information is from the More Magazine article ‘Find your perfect Career Fit’ By Michelle Dewberry’  in Issue 3rd December 2012, I did not write this!)

Also posted in http://lifeisfunbeingme.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

