More Magazine Issue 4th February 2013 Working Abroad

This article is perfect for those of us that want to travel the world but also need the funds to allow us to achieve this… 

Destination Dream Job: 

Want to travel and make money? No problem! Four readers reveal how you can get paid while you see the world…

TRAVEL AND WORK

Abby, 22, is a PR Account Executive living in New Zealand. ‘When I finished my journalism degree at Southampton Solent Uni in 2011, I decided to move abroad to start a career in PR. I knew I wanted to live in an English-speaking country with a stable economy and, after talking to friends who’d travelled the world, I realised that New Zealand ticked all the right boxes.  People must have thought that I was heading off  on a long holiday when I told them I was moving abroad without a job waiting for me, but I was determined to find work out there. When I first arrived in Auckland, I stayed at a hostel and spent everyday on the internet searching for a job and a more permanent place to stay – it took a while to find anything at first, and there were times where I felt like giving up and coming home. 

I’d saved enough money to keep me going for a few months, but I knew I’d have to give up on my dream if I couldn’t find work soon. Luckily, it didn’t take long before I bagged a retail job. I also managed to get work experience with a local PR company. After finishing my placement, they decided to keep me on, so within 3 months of moving, I’d landed my dream job. New Zealand quickly felt like home, so it wasn’t a hard decision to stay. The cost of living here is a lot cheaper than the UK and the vibe is chilled out. New Zealanders are really into work – life balance, so they don’t stay too late in the office. I miss my family, but I Skype with them when I can – usually first thing in the morning or late at night. I’m really hoping to make a life here.’ 

MAKE IT HAPPEN – Mike Hill, from Graduate Prospects, tells you how

– Check out the country’s work restrictions/laws

– Be Money Savvy and find out how much tax and national insurance you’ll need to pay so you know what your take – home wage will be.

– Be prepared to do casual work at first to get you going

– Check out government immigration sites – many have programmes to help highly skilled worked get a job in areas the country needs help in, such as law and teaching

GO TO UNI 

Fiona, 23, is a British student studying in Finland. ‘I decided to go to study in Finland, because they don’t charge tuition fees, so I thought it’d be great way to get a degree without racking up lots of debt and experience living in another country. I wanted to study hotel management and after doing some research, I found a course taught in English in Helsinki, the capital, it seemed silly not to go for it. I sorted my living arrangements through HOAS – a Finnish government association that provides students with apartments at a cheap price. Living in Finland can be very expensive (especially eating out and shopping), but by saving on uni fees and accommodation, and working part – time restaurant, I can live quite comfortably. It took a while to adjust to the way of life here. I wish I’d been more prepared with the language, too. It isn’t compulsory to know Finnish, but some locals such as bus tickets inspectors refuse to speak English. I’ve learnt a few phrases so I’m fine now, but it was very daunting at first. It’s also frowned upon to speak on public transport, for example, and if you go for dinner at someone’s house its customary to get naked and share a sauna afterwards! Moving here was worth it for the university experience, though. The class sizes are really small which makes a nice change from the UK. It means you get a lot more attention from the teacher and don’t feel left behind. And I’ve made lots of friends on my course. Once I graduate, I’d like to work at a hotel in the Middle East or Asia, but I’m excited to have another two years of experience here.’

MAKE IT HAPPEN – Jemma Davies from the studentworld.com tells you how…

– Check out all location options, universities in Denmark and Finland don’t charge fees, and in Norway and Austria the fees are under £50. Studying in the US is a great option too, as there are over 4500 colleges to pick from. It can be pricey, but they do offer scholarships.

– Look up ‘Study abroad’ events online. They give you a chance to meet uni representatives face to face to find out what to expect

– Contact the university for help with visas

INTERN OVERSEAS 

Sadie, 26, is a marketing intern in New York. ‘When I was studying PR at Bournemouth university, a careers advisor suggested I check out Mountbatten institute. It’s a UK based organisation that provides international work placements for graduates. I’d been desperate to work in America, but getting a visa without having a Job is near impossible. So I was really excited to discover that Mountbatten organised everything. I just had to ace a job interview and pack my bags! After the first interview, I spoke to various US companies on Skype so they could decide if they wanted to hire me. I was eventually chosen to do a marketing placement at the British Consulate, which is absolutely amazing, as that’s what I wanted. I share a room with another intern, which is fun, but also tricky at times because were constantly in each others space. But I’m living the New York dream, shopping and sight – seeing, although i have to watch my budget as transport and bills can be pricey. I have to work extremely hard, but I’m having such an amazing time here I’ve made friends for life’ 

MAKE IT HAPPEN – Vikki Hedges, from Mountbatten tells you how

– Applicants must be 21 or over, with at least a 2:2 degree and a years work experience.

– Get ahead of the deadlines. We offer two intakes a year in March and in August. The recruitment process takes two months. 

– Save up. Our interns pay £7400 at the start, which covers an apartment minutes from Manhattan for the year, plus a living allowance, medical insurance and tuition for the post – graduate business evening course.

TEACH ABROAD

Kelly, 27, is a music Teacher living in Qatar

‘I’ve played piano since I was little and I’m bossy by nature, so teaching music is the perfect job for me! After getting a music degree and PGCE (teaching qualification) in Cardiff, and working briefly as a music teacher in Southampton, I wanted a change of scene. I initially started looking online for teaching jobs in Australia, but then I saw a music teacher role in Qatar, in the Middle East, and thought why not? My family and friends encouraged me to go for it as they thought it would be an amazing opportunity  So a few weeks later, I was interviewed and offered the job. The six months between accepting the role and flying out there was filled with paperwork, but luckily the school sorted out my visa and paid for my flight. When I got there I was homesick for the first 2 weeks and it took some time to adjust to the culture. I had to make sure I was always wearing clothes that covered my shoulders, to respect the conservative culture, but I’m used to it now. I work with 200 staff members and we all live in the same compound, which was a bit full on at first, but I’ve made some really close friends. Most people here speak English and I teach in English but I have learnt a few Arabic phrases too. I Skype my family regularly and fly back to Bridgend Wales, to see them over the school holidays. But moving to Qatar is the best decision I’ve ever made. I also earn double the amount I did in the UK, as my wages aren’t taxed, so I can spoil myself a little.’

MAKE IT HAPPEN – Alana MacPherson, from TEFL, tells you how

– Having a PGCE teaching qualification puts you in a strong position, but job requirements depend on the country and school you’re applying to.

– Contact the embassy of the country you hope to go up to for info on visas

– Not sure what you’d like to teach? Do A TEFL – Teaching English as a Foreign Language course. The only requirement is that you speak English!

PERSONAL OPINION:

I’ve always wanted to go travelling and reading these people’s experiences makes me want to go and do it… time to start saving up!! 

(Please Note: The information is from the More Magazine article  ‘Destination: Dream Job’ in Issue 4th February 2013, I did not write this!)

Also posted in http://lifeisfunbeingme.wordpress.com/ 

Leave a Reply

