More Magazine Quiz The Boss Issue 25th February 2013

More asks Bosses what they look for when hiring an employee and tips that they can advise us with…

This week: Aruna Seth, 30, from London owns her own shoe line. Visit Arunaseth.com

WHAT DO YOU LOOK FOR WHEN HIRING A NEW STAFF MEMBER?
I’m impressed in an interview when people tell me what they want to achieve for themselves and  the company in the long-term. I also look for people who are flexible. To work here you just need to be happy working in the stock room as you are representing us at a celebrity event. 

WHAT ARE YOUR TOP TIPS FOR PROGRESSING UP THE CAREER LADDER?
Know exactly what you want and speak to your manager as much as you can (without being annoying) – to learn from them. Networking is so important – the more people you know, the more likely you are to open yourself up to new opportunities. 

WHAT’S ONE THING YOU WISH YOU’D KNOWN BEFORE YOU STARTED OUT?
I wish I’d known what a massive part sales would play in my company. My background is in design, so I had to learn sales skills very quickly.

WHAT’S THE BEST ADIVICE YOU’VE EVER BEEN GIVEN?
My dad has taught me the importance of staying focused. It’s easy to take on lot’s of different projects at once but you need to prioritise before you move on to the next thing on your to-do list.

WHAT’S YOUR GREATEST ACHIEVEMENT?
Having Pippa Middleton wear my shoes to the Royal Wedding was a career-defining moment!

(Please Note: The information is from the More Magazine article ‘Spotlight on primary teaching’ in Issue 25th February 2013, I did not write this!)

Also posted in http://lifeisfunbeingme.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

