Tuesday 19th July

This morning I got in at half 8 and I ended up being the first one in the office, I also managed to find a parking space straight away which is always a bonus… yay!

Due to the weather being so amazing because of this heatwave, I’m also super irritated because I can’t seem to sleep at night so lack of sleep = an irritated Rosa.

Seeing as I was an hour early I might as well make myself useful and get an early start. I did the receptionist a favour by helping her out a bit and made sure the kitchen was tidy, put plates and cups away and that jars were filled with coffee, tea, sugar etc…

Although some may argue that those were pointless jobs, when I cover for the receptionist that is all I really have to do unless I’m given tasks from the editors. However as well as being the receptionist she also covers the promotion side of things so it helps her out by ticking a few extra’s off her list. 

I also counted all the competitions that were in the box as she was most likely going to ask me to do it anyway. I think it’s strange that when we read a magazine we dive into a world that isn’t ours and when we see a competition advertised that we would only think would exist in a dream we go for it! When I sort out the competitions I see entries that make that extra effort by writing it in bubble writing or sending it in a neon coloured envelope, and then I think that it doesn’t make a difference because it really is a lucky dip and the winner could be anyone because what you don’t know is that their is a girl like me working in a magazine counting them and picking 1 out to then send out a winning letter too.

Now for the real reason why I was at work today…

One of their publications has had the majority of their competitions entries sent in and it’s my job to count them… 3073 counted competition entries later I then commence the task of opening them up 1 by 1 to then write up an excel doc to input the data as it useful to  be able to view the entries and to analyse the results.

I think I managed to do about 2000 today, not bad should be able to start typing the data up on Thursday, I’m quite fast with this as I have a pretty fast method worked out :)…

IT’S HOME TIME…

See you on Thursday as I’m going to Liverpool tomorrow. Roadtrip!! 

Rosa X 

Also posted in http://lifeisfunbeingme.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

