Monday 29th July

Today was such a good day…

I Got in, had a catch up with the receptionist as she is now back for the week and I am back onto competition data entry, however it took me 10 minutes to open the document as the computer I was using converted it to numbers! I hate this programme, its so slow! 

Today I went for it, if you don’t ask you will never get! I seen the editor who I was working with for the promotion whilst she had a spare minute and asked her for feedback about my writing as although I thought the emails were good she always updated them with tweeks before confirming to me that they were ok to send. Because she tweeked them, this time it didn’t discourage me, in fact it encouraged me to understand where I was going wrong. One thing she did say was as I dealt with it by myself on Friday, she said to handover a conclusion to her so that she knew at what stage the promotion was at so I sent her an email with the updates. (On my part it was stupid not to think of this or even see that common knowledge would say to do this) She said that writing professionally just comes with practice but she did say to perhaps think of taking a creative writing seminar course although expensive, it would look incredibly good on my CV. As the PA would maybe know any contacts with this she said she would look into it for me and also gave me a very good website as a starting point within my city, which I will check out! 

I aspire to reach the top of work hierarchy like my CEO at my placement and today I finally got my chance to ask her about how she got to where she is. I see her as being the ultimate student as, as soon as she finished university she got a job straight away and said to  me as I’m interested in the editorial side of the magazine to ask the editors to do a try out piece. This would be such an achievement for me if I write it and they were to like it! 

Extra Tasks:

I helped with handing out post as the receptionist was busy due to catching up on her emails etc 

I had to re-print a document for the finance director which involved scanning it, printing it,  binding it and emailing it over as a PDF.

I also emailed the PA my holiday dates in which I won’t be available during September as I’m going on holiday… yay!

Also posted in http://lifeisfunbeingme.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

