More Magazine Go Think Big Workmates Of The Week Issue 1st April

In every issue of More that I have typed up there has always been a workmates of the week double page spread but I have not felt the need to share them with you apart from this one. Enjoy! 🙂 

Molly, 25, reveals why her role as editor is so rewarding…
Gothinkbig.co.uk is much more than just a job opportunities website. It’s an online community that helps people aged 16-24 get on the career ladder. It was set up by Bauer Media and O2 and offers internships and work placements across different industries, as well as featuring things like articles on how to dress for the office and cool-part time jobs. As editor of gothinkbig.co.uk, it’s my job to make sure out content is helpful, yet fun. Most career websites are so dull. I always wanted to be a journalist, so after graduating with a degree in English from Oxford University, I started interning for a national business magazine. Gradually, I worked my way up from intern to writer, and from writer to deputy editor. It gave me confidence, taught me how to edit copy, and helped me trust my own instincts. I’ve been in my role since January. During a typical day, we’ll have a news meeting in the morning to come up with feature ideas and to ensure what we’re writing about is current. The rest of the day is varied. One minute I’m writing a story on how to save money while interning and the next I’m talking to our inventors. I get a kick out of knowing people starting out in their careers turn to our website for guidance. It’s great when we help someone get an internship that turns into a job. It makes all the hard work worth it.’

STEVIE, 24, STAFF WRITER
DESCRIBE WHAT YOU DO ON A DAILY BASIS
In the morning, I’ll come up with story ideas for the website. I then spend the rest of my day interviewing people from different industries and uploading the content to the site. If everything goes to plan, I’ll write two to three stories a day. 

WHAT QUALIFICATIONS DO YOU NEED?
You don’t need a degree just bags of passion and track record of working hard.

JACKIE, 19, PROJECT MANAGER ASSISTANT
WHAT DOES YOUR JOB INVOLVE?
I help out across all of our projects. I’m currently working on gothinkbig.co.uk’s media campaign, getting TV concepts signed off, as well as gathering info for the website and sorting out invoices.

WHAT KIND OF PERSON MAKES A GOOD PROJECT MANAGER ASSISTANT?
Someone who’s proactive, can use their own initiative and is able to work under lots of pressure.

ELEANOR, 23, OPPORTUNITIES MANAGER
WHAT’S YOUR ROLE ALL ABOUT?
I work with companies to organise internships for people using gothinkbig.co.uk I also plan events and day sessions to help young people enhance their skills. 

WHAT’S YOUR TOP TIP FOR JOB SEARCHING?
Don’t be afraid to explore different avenues of work. You don’t need experience, just an interest in the field, as the skills you have might apply to another job you’ve never considered, but would be great at. 

NATALIE, 22, STAFF WRITER
WHAT’S THE BEST WAY TO BECOME A WRITER?
Make use of any contacts you meet while doing work experience placements and stay in touch with them – you never know when they might be able to help you!

WHAT’S YOUR TOP WRITING TIP?
Do your research and plan out the direction you want the piece to go in before you even type your first word. 

(Please Note: The information is from the More Magazine article ‘Workmates of the week Go Think Big’ in Issue 1st April 2013, I did not write this!)

Also posted in http://lifeisfunbeingme.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

