More Magazine Quiz The Boss Issue 25th March 2013

This week: Lizzy Bishop, 33, from Brighton, is the director and founder of Brighton Fashion Week

WHAT DO YOU DO?
I organise Brighton Fashion Week, sorting out everything from the shows to the accounts. Most of my time is spent in meetings with sponsors, designers and make – up artists.

DO YOU HAVE TO DRESS A PARTICULAR WAY TO WORK IN FASHION?
You don’t have to wear Jimmy Choos, but you do need to be aware of what suits you – particularly if you’re out meeting clients.

IN A JOB INTERVIEW, HOW QUICKLY DO YOU DECIDE WHETHER SOMEBODY’S GOT THE ROLE?
Very! You have to be careful because first impressions can be false, but I’ll know if somebody’s job application matches up to the person sat in front of me in the first few minutes.

WHAT TIP WOULD YOU GIVE TO SOMEBODY WHO’S JUST STARTING OUT?
Get a mentor and ask if you can shadow them for a day. They don’t need to be in the same industry as you. I was mentored by someone from EDF energy who helped me learn everything from accounts to marketing.

WHAT THE BEST PIECE OF CAREER ADVICE YOU HAVE BEEN GIVEN?
Nothing goes right all the time. You will have moments when you fail. I was diagnosed with cancer when I was 23. which taught me to tackle problems head on with worrying too much. BFW, 12-16 June (brightonfashionweek.com)

(Please Note: The information is from the More Magazine article ‘So you want to be a Florist’ in Issue 25th March 2013, I did not write this!)

Also posted in http://lifeisfunbeingme.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

