More Magazine Quiz The Boss Issue 8th April 2013

Nichola Joss, 45, is a celebrity facilist and Sanctuary Spa skincare expert from London

WHAT’S THE BEST THING ABOUT YOUR JOB?
The variety – I won’t know from one week to the next whether I’ll be in Australia massaging clients, doing a presentation for the press or on a film set working with a celeb. It’s hard work but I love the adrenaline buzz.

HOW DID YOU GET TO THE TOP?
I wanted to be a forensic scientist so I studied biology and physiology, but realised I was more interested in beauty. I did a course with [famous spa] Champneys, and worked on fashion shoots to make contacts. 

WHAT MAKES A CV STAND OUT?
If you’ve had a variety of jobs and have worked from a young age, it shows me you have a good work ethic and can turn your hand to anything.

HOW COULD SOMEONE IMPRESS YOU IN AN INTERVIEW?
Be friendly and confident and ask lot’s of questions. Don’t assume I know everything just because you’ve given me your CV. You need to sell yourself and that can mean going over and expanding on your application.

WHAT ADVICE WOULD YOU GIVE TO SOMEONE WHO IS JUST STARTING OUT?
Work hard, be keen and don’t say no to something just because you won’t get paid. You sometimes need to work for free, but it will show your dedication and love for the industry. To book an appointment at Sanctuary Spa, call 0845 521 4567 or visit sanctuary.com

(Please Note: The information is from the More Magazine article ‘So you want to be a Nurse’ in Issue 8th April 2013, I did not write this!)

Also posted in http://lifeisfunbeingme.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

