Thursday 23rd January

Ok for this post I’m going to start it differently you might not see the relevance to start off with but it should become clear as I go on…

I’m going to tell you about where my dream to be an editor has stemmed from I may have briefly mentioned it in another diary entry, apologies if I am repeating myself I’ve written so many that I can’t remember. My dream goes back to when I was 14 years old and I had just started Year 10 in school I was in the 2nd or 3rd from bottom set and instead of studying GCSE English language & literature we were set to study studied English language with Media Studies, as the school felt we were under achievers, at the same time the following series started…

I always had a love for writing and English and the more I studied this class the more I fell in love with Media Advertisements, writing and magazines. For this class I worked  insanely hard for it, it was the only place where I put in 110% but in the end it was worthwhile I came out with Grades A in media and B in English language. I actually remember coming out of my media exam in tears thinking, ‘Oh no I ran out of time, that went awful, I’m never going to do well.’ and then when I got my results and seen I had an A I cried again, I was so happy. However watching Ugly Betty opened my eyes to what I wanted to be when I was older I want that job title of Editor in Chief, Ugly Betty aspired me to dream big  and while it’s all good to have a dream they can also be toxic at the same time because thinking my life would be exactly like Ugly Betty is not realistic, going to New York and getting hired in a top publishing company would be insanely hard I’m still such an amateur and have a long long way to go. I will always be grateful for my placement because they bought my life down to a reality and to real expectations of what a publishing company is like. Now you can argue that I have only been in one publishing company and haven’t experienced others and that some may be just like what I expect in my dream, the concept is the same it the differences, the organisational culture that makes them different to others. 

Today I was so excited to book a meeting room because its give me a tiny taste of what editors that I aspire to, do on a daily basis. I know its a tiny thing booking a meeting room but I’m the kind of person where the tiniest things in life mean the most. Before I would cover reception and editors would ring me to book them a room now its the other way round I’m calling reception to book a meeting room for me! I have my first meeting in a meeting room with an editor, how exciting so now today I have prepare for what I’m going to say and what I want to address…Eeekkkk!!  I am always so grateful for the opportunities that my placement give me but sometimes I feel like they see me as a ditsy girl prancing about the office and not taking publishing seriously although that’s probably not true as I have lasted 3 and a half years, its probably just my negative opinion of myself. 

Back to the work day, my plan for today was to finish the following by lunch time the social media section of my pitch and then to begin working on the print side of what this magazine can improve. I then printed off the entire document of what I have done so far to show to Editor 1 for our meeting, you know the one that I booked myself 🙂 Editor 1’s feedback was that for the social media section where I am analysing the hash tags that could be used to reach a larger audience are connoted as negative and when doing a pitch you have to sugar coat what you are saying by giving out a positive idea so after the meeting I had to go and re-do my analysis and use my creativity of how I could portray the use of a negative hash tag into a positive one. 

Working on print is very hard, actually you know what this whole project is brilliant to be working on as its something extra that I can add onto my CV but it is so challenging and I hope by challenging myself to work towards the high standard that my placement set I will achieve an excellent pitch for them. Thinking of editorial ideas is incredibly hard as you have to be inspired & brainstorm what the audience would want to read, its back to getting into the mindset of your target audience age which for me is 55+ in order to go forward with a idea. One of the criticisms for this magazine is that its dumbed-down whereas the content on their online platform I felt was much heavier (this is just my opinion). Also it is said that magazines are starting to decrease, but it is still important to have a print platform as well as an online one because the older generation still prefer traditional methods of use instead of using the internet. Although some of the older generation have adapted as technology has developed, some still choose to remain defiant and stick to traditional use i.e. magazines and newspapers which is why this magazine could improve in its editorial content as statistics from my social media slides also back this up. 

That’s it for today, it’s time to go home and I will see you tomorrow… 

Also posted in http://lifeisfunbeingme.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

