Friday 24th January

Today I left work early due to a hospital appointment, once I arrived in the office I carried on working on my editorial ideas from yesterday. I expanded on my feature ideas and focused on the layout of how to present my ideas to make sure I was incorporating the concept of F.A.C.E.  The part I hated the most about this project was the fact that I felt I had no idea what I was doing, getting in the correct mindset was tough, so thinking up of editorial ideas especially as I was finding this so hard revolved  around me staring at a blank screen for a while. I hate that feeling of the added pressure of being timed knowing you have to complete this by a certain date but then not having anything to show for what you have done for the working day… writers block and lack of inspiration I feel is the worst especially when working in a creative industry. 

Whenever you do anything in a creative industry, everything depends on an idea and I have a silly little theory of how I think of this. I think of it being the process of planting a seed to watching it develop into a flower. My thought process is that the seed is the thought – the raw ideas, the leaves become the work to develop it and the flower is the finished product whereas the nurture of the soil and water are the improvements allowing the idea to grow. I do the exact same thing when writing up my blog posts the notes I scribble down sometimes don’t even make sense but then I work on them, nurture them and can finally then click publish.

Naturally this section was all I managed to complete today and due to confidentiality I cannot discuss the editorial ideas I produced as the ideas are tailored for the client and are very specific!

Finally its the weekend, the last four days have been tough but I am so glad to be able to experience a real taster of  the creative industries. Pitching has proven to be really challenging as there is so much that you need to take into account.

See you next week.

Also posted in http://lifeisfunbeingme.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

