Monday 3rd February

Hey I’m back,

Its time for part 2 of this project, this morning I got in and carried on with finishing off my editorial ideas, my personal aim for today is to finish all my feature ideas in time for some feedback. I find it takes a lot of time to work on a pitch especially as I have repeatedly stated its hard to get in the mindset of a target audience who is a lot older than me. I know that I may come across that I have moaned since the start of this project by saying its tough and its hard BUT I would like to point out that I am not giving up and am putting in 100%, this pitch has proven to be a real challenge and it is the first piece of real work I have had to do so of course its not going to be plain sailing, life will always be a massive roller coaster full of ups and downs.

I’m glad my placement gave me a project as big as this to do by myself because I feel having a real taste of something that you truly want to do helps you with your expectation, gives you a real sense of the working world and knowledge on how hard something can be so that in the future I don’t end up going into a career, quitting or giving up because I found it too hard, didn’t like it or not at all what I expected. I can say I kept at it, although challenging and pursued it instead. I remember being told that when I did my GCSE’s they would be the easiest part of my education and that A-levels would a step harder, university would be 10x harder and then putting all that knowledge into real life is even tougher especially when I’m studying a theory based course. So this week so far have made me learn a lot about myself that I can keep going and although I do feel like giving up because it would be EASIER, I’m not I’m carrying on.

Although I find this project so challenging, I am really enjoying it because its pushing me to think outside the box, to be inventive, creative and push myself to produce the best piece of work that I possibly can. I have to always remember that I am working for someone else and not only does this have to be accepted by the client but I have to maintain my placements standard, I have to prove myself, show that I am a creative and a slight perfectionist. 

Today I managed to have a meeting with Editor 2 and receive some feedback on my progress so far, it was exciting for me to finally be part of the other side – Editorial. Sometimes I walk past the meeting rooms and see editors discussing with their note books and mood boards and I feel envious that I’m not in there too. The meeting went very well as I managed to receive plenty of tips, Editor 2 was pleased with initial ideas for my feature but suggested that I expanded on them.

Today sounds like I’ve pretty much lounged around because before I knew it, it was 5:30 and I managed to complete 6 slides but I blame F.A.C.E & Keynote, I did try to complete all my feature ideas so that tomorrow I can focus on the outer concepts such as audience, magazine role etc. Keynote, seriously is one time consuming software as well as making sure that everything I have written is geared towards the client. It’s also picking the right picture to liven up the slide which is where media language then comes in along with its denotation and connotation. I will say this, after using keynote you become a perfectionist it will even make you start aligning your bedroom.

Also posted in http://lifeisfunbeingme.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

